So I’m finally back home in Philadelphia, and so far it’s been great. While staying with my parents was good and they gave me food and love and things, not being able to drive was, well, driving me crazy, and I constantly had this empty feeling between my ribs that made me feel like I wanted to cry. I thought I might still feel that way when I got home, but so far, that hasn’t been the case. It’s been great to hang out with my roommates and my friend Kara, who is staying with us while she rehearses a show in the city. They asked me all about my surgery and said I look really good. “I’m sorry, I’m staring at your boobs,” Dustin said. “But it’s for science.” 

I was kind of tired and would have liked to just chill out for the rest of the night, but I had plans: I was going on my very first date.When I was walking around the city last week, I was stopped by a guy who was very nice and I agreed to go out with him. I got there a little late because for some reason, no trains were coming and when one finally did, they wouldn’t let us get on it. When I finally did meet up with my date, Bryan, we went to a not-loud bar/restaurant. I got some soup and we both got a drink. We stayed there for awhile, and he was really easy to talk to. When we finished, I paid because I am a feminist and because I got the most stuff. Then we went back to his apartment, he showed me this video we had been talking about, and then we made out. So apparently, I will kiss on the first date.

I don’t know what’s going to happen with him- I had a lot of fun and it was a good first first-date experience. Neither of us has contacted the other yet, so who knows if there will be a second date. Either way, I’m satisfied with the experience.

I’ve been feeling less useless being here, since I can do more things and go more places, which is nice. I see my surgeon on Monday and go back to work on Tuesday. I’ll also be seeing a bunch of my friends this weekend, which I’m really looking forward to.

Leave a Reply

