Children’s Theatre

A week or so ago, one of my roommates came home and said, “Hey, Rachel, do you still hate your job?” “You bet I do.” “Want a different one?”

At first, I thought he was going to tell me there was an opening at his sales job, giving product presentations in stores, something I could never do. But then he told me that he was returning to teaching summer theatre lasses and he needed an assistant. Usually, a mutual friend of ours assists him, but she’s in school this summer.

He described the job to me and it sounded great: hours that jived with my rehearsal schedule, fairly good pay, using the theatre education material we’d learned together in 2009, and, best of all, using my degree. I gave him a tentative yes.After checking with my crazy boss, I accepted the teaching job officially. It starts tomorrow and I am SCARED. It’s been about three years since I’ve taught, so I’m sure I’ll be a little (or a lot) rusty. But my roommate will lead for the first couple days and then I’ll pitch in as an equal. ¬†Hopefully the kids will be excited to be there and willing to learn.

Leave a Reply

