Twenty-Three

Saturday was my twenty-third birthday.

I’ve never been a huge birthday fan, mostly because I have ideas of how far along I should be by certain ages, and I’ve rarely reached those goals in time. This year, my show opened on my birthday, and I couldn’t have been happier. I know some people who don’t like to work on their birthday, but I consider it an amazing thing to get to do what I love on my birthday. I’ve spent most birthdays since I was fourteen or so acting in some capacity, and I think that’s great.

We had two shows on Saturday, and both of them went really well. My mom came to the dress rehearsal the day before and my five year-old cousin came with her parents and my great-aunt came to the second show opening day. I don’t know if people realize how much it means to me when they come to see my shows; it’s one of the best gifts you can give me.

In between shows, the cast and crew went out to lunch, which was really fun and I sort of counted as my birthday celebration, even though I didn’t tell them it was my birthday (when I told Trevor this later, he shouted, “YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG!”) For an hour-long kids’ show, this show is exhausting. Usually at places like the restaurant we went to, I can never eat the whole meal, but I ate every crumb off of that plate. By the time the second show ended, I just wanted to chill out with a movie and some chocolate. Trevor kept encouraging me to go out and do something, but to be honest, I was perfectly fine just staying in; I don’t feel like I neglected my birthday.

Twenty-three seems to me to be a weird, in-between age. I’m not quite sure what to do with it, but I’m sure I’ll figure it out.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs. Flury
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 20:53:14

    Happy Birthday, Rachel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

