My Life Would Be Easier, But…

Every now and then, as I’m sure most actors do, I think how my life would be so much easier if I weren’t driven to act. If the idea of never acting again didn’t make me miserable. My life would be easier if I wanted a “real” job, I’ve thought many times this week since I looked at the low, low number in my bank account and thought about how much trouble I would be in if my parents weren’t helping me.

Yes. My life would be a lot easier. But it’s things like this (this one written by Kristie Kuhl), as well as having great rehearsals over and over, that remind me why I do what I do.

“Actors are some of the most driven, courageous people on 
the face of the earth. They deal with more day-to-day 
rejection in one year than most people do in a lifetime. 
Every day, actors face the financial challenge of living
a freelance lifestyle, the disrespect of people who think 
they should get “real” jobs, and their own fear that they’ll 
never work again. Every day, they have to ignore the 
possibility that the vision they have dedicated their 
lives to is a pipe dream. With every role, they stretch 
themselves, emotionally and physically, risking criticism 
and judgment. With every passing year, many of them watch 
as the other people their age achieve the predictable 
milestones of normal life – the car, the family, the 
house, the nest egg. 

But they stay true to their dream, in spite of the 
sacrifices. Why? 

Because actors are willing to give their entire lives to 
a moment – to that line, that laugh, that gesture, or that 
interpretation that will stir the audience’s soul. Actors 
are beings who have tasted life’s nectar in that crystal
moment when they poured out their creative spirit and 
touched another’s heart. In that instant, they were as
close to magic, God, and perfection as anyone could ever 
be. And in their own hearts, they know that to dedicate 
oneself to that moment is worth a thousand lifetimes.”

Leave a Reply

