The People At Rite Aid Made Fun of Me

After I survived my bone scan with no trouble whatsoever, and especially since the doctors were so nice, I was starting to rethink my negative opinions of medical personnel. But then I went to go get my flu shot today.

I’ve already talked about my dislike of needles, so I wasn’t looking forward to it from the start. But also, since I’m out of school, I couldn’t go to the health office and get it there. Instead, I had to choose between places like Target and Rite Aid. I actually would have gone to Target simply because I love it for everything it is (awesome), but the Target by my apartment doesn’t have a pharmacy, so I couldn’t. That left the Rite Aid, and I don’t know, I just find it unsettling to get a vaccination in a store where I can also pick up Band-Aids (Target has dresses and a cute dog in their commercials, so it’s different.) But I had already put it off for so many days that I knew if I didn’t do it today, I wouldn’t do it at all.

So I went to the Rite Aid and walked back to the pharmacy counter and told them I would like a flu shot, please. The nurses looked at me a little strangely, but then one finally asked if I had ever been to a Rite Aid before. I didn’t really understand the question- did she mean, like, in my life, to buy a notebook or some candy, or did she mean to get a shot? Since we were talking about the latter, I said no. The nurse’s eyebrows went up and all through my time there, she kept repeating to the other nurse, “…Because she’s never been to a Rite Aid.”  Then she asked if I had insurance. I said yes and told them my (parents’) provider, and the nurses looked very disgruntled. I didn’t get this- isn’t having insurance supposed to be a good thing? Their annoyed reactions at my insurance didn’t end there, either- when the one nurse rang it up on the machine, she said all annoyed, “It’s zero. You don’t owe anything.”

Despite their being miffed at my having insurance, the nurse took my card anyway. “Do you have a prescription card?” she asked. “Um… Sorry, I don’t really know what that is. It’s my first time not getting a shot at school. I’ve never done this sort of thing on my own,” I told her… and she and the other nurse started laughing. I’m still kind of confused as to why this was so funny. Maybe they thought I meant I’d never gotten a shot on my own? If not that, I have no idea; I don’t think it’s illogical for me to have gotten a $10 flu shot provided in the health office at my school. And also, I still don’t know what a prescription card is; I was never told I needed one and they didn’t show or give me one.

I was given a form to fill out, which was no problem, but apparently it was Make Fun of Rachel Day at the Rite Aid: the same nurse came out and took my form to read it and asked why I had checked “yes” for food allergies. I told her I’m allergic to bananas… and she started laughing. Like, uproariously laughing. “How does that even happen?!” she asked. I should add that both of the nurses were in their fifties or so, so hearing this blatantly rude question was even more surprising from someone that age.  I was bewildered. What did she expect me to say? “I was bored one day so I decided to get an allergy to bananas”? Don’t all allergies “happen” in the same way by developing inside your body? And also, bananas are not the weirdest thing I could be allergic to. I have no idea why I was so hilarious today.

The rest of the appointment was fairly unremarkable: the nurse pretended to have bedside manner for a minute and asked me what my major had been and seemed very interested until I told her where I went and then she suddenly lost interest. She also neglected to ask which was my dominant arm and so assumed that I’m right-handed (I’m not.) But the shot didn’t hurt, so that’s something. I will not be returning to the Rite Aid, though. And I’ll keep my banana allergy to myself next time.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 21:29:17

    Jeez, that sucks. Their behavior doesn’t make any sense to me at all; I hardly ever had to go to any pharmacy to pick up prescriptions either, and I definitely wouldn’t have a clue about what they needed for a flu shot at one of them. Also, fruit allergies aren’t that weird; I’ve had a few friends unable to eat bananas, strawberries, or kiwis. Sorry to hear about their rudeness, Rachel! (Also, how’s your foot feeling?)

    Reply

    • Rachel
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 21:32:24

      Yeah, I have no idea what was going on. It was very strange.

      My foot’s feeling much better- the pad the doctor gave me for my shoe really helps,so maybe I’ll just use it forever and ever. I do have to find an alternative solution for when I dance in jazz/ballet shoes, though, because the pad is too thick for those.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

