Hey, Mr. Postman

There’s been a problem with my mail since I moved into this new apartment. I’d get e-mails saying that my Netflix had been returned to the post office, and my mom told me that the card she sent me had appeared back at their house. But I didn’t think too much of this; as my mom and I speculated, since I had gotten the address from the apartment complex website, it was probably the office address as opposed to the address for the actual apartments. But then today, when my roommates and I were hanging out in the living room, I found out the real story: our mailman is crazy.

Apparently, our postman does not realize that he delivers to an apartment building, where new people come and go every day. Instead of just delivering the mail and trusting that if someone paired their name with the complex’s address, they probably live there, he gets very angry. While he is more than happy to deliver mail to the people he knows in each apartment (whether they live there at that time or not), he gets very distressed when he sees a new name. According to the roommate who has lived here the longest, if the mailman actually delivers a piece of mail to a person he doesn’t know, he will write all over the envelope, things like “WHO IS THIS?!?!” or just tons of question marks.

Sir. Mr. Mailman. This is an apartment building. One that houses many a college student. And you’re going to demand to know every single person that lives there, or refuse to deliver their mail? Something tells me this is not because you are a lovely and social individual.

Is this real life? Is this what being an adult is like? I deal with enough crazy people at work. I just want my mail…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 12:31:51

    Waco freaked out when I suddenly started getting mail with two different names. Try sticking a note in your mailbox noting the names of all who are receiving mail at the time. That settled them down while we were there (now we get mail for the people we are renting from, despite them moving out four months ago).

    Reply

    • Rachel
      Sep 25, 2012 @ 17:33:46

      Yeah, that’s what Colin’s going to do., but it’s so dumb. While I know that there are people who mess up numbers (er… me ;p), for the most part, if someone puts something down as their address, they probably live there.

      Reply

  2. Corine
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 21:44:31

    F*ckin’ amazing things here. I’m very glad to see your post. Thanks a lot and i’m looking forward to contact you. Will you please drop me a mail?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

