Things My Job Has Taught Me

As of five days ago, I have been working as a server for three whole months. In that time, I have learned a lot from my job. LIST TIME!

I’M UNUSED TO PERFORMING ALONE.
I have performed solo many times in my career, whether it be a monologue within a play or a singing solo. But really, I don’t consider myself a solo performer and to be honest, I prefer working with a scene/duet partner than getting the spotlight all to myself. It’s still very strange to me to be given the floor to myself for my solo. This means that I have to employ the lesson I only began to learn this past year- almost exactly a year ago, actually: I am worth watching and need to own the stage when I’m out there on my own.

SOMETIMES, I JUST DON’T FEEL LIKE SINGING.
This was a shocking revelation to me. I’ve always loved singing, even for the years that I convinced myself that I couldn’t sing. But some days, I’m just too tired to perform, which is shocking to me. I spend most of my days pining for solos, and then I don’t feel like doing it?  This leads me to my next lesson:

SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO SUCK IT UP AND SING.
I’m actually incredibly grateful to my job for teaching me this lesson. I’ve never had a job.been in a show where I didn’t know until I got there whether I’d be performing or not. With shows, it’s not a question: I will be performing, and I have no choice but to energize myself appropriately or risk delivering a substandard performance. But with this job, I don’t know until two hours before whether I’m one of the day’s chosen singers. Sometimes, I just don’t feel like skipping around the dance floor begging to hear it for the boy, but that’s too bad: I’m singing. So now I’ve figured out how to turn on performance mode very quickly, even more so than before.

I DON’T NEED TO BE SO ANAL ABOUT MY FOOD INTAKE BEFORE I SING.
Since I began to perform as a singer, I have been very, very careful about what I eat and drink before performances. Two days before a singing audition, I would cut out all dairy and, if possible, caffeine, from my diet. This is very difficult for me, as I like to have cereal or yogurt in the morning and drink milk with most meals. But when I started this job, I knew that I couldn’t go without a proper breakfast in case I was singing that day, so I stopped worrying… and you know what? I sing just as well after drinking milk in the morning. So now I don’t have to be so careful all the time! Yay!

PEOPLE ARE CRAZY.
I am compiling a list of crazy stories for a future blog post. But just for some teasers, there was the woman whose pen wouldn’t work who then screamed at me, “MAKE IT WRITE!”, another woman who stared at her menu for five minutes, said “Never mind,” but when I turned away to go get every else’s drinks, yelled, “I’M NOT DONE!”, and the man who accused me of stealing his credit card and, upon discovering that he had dropped it under his own chair, refused to give me a tip.

WORKING WITH FELLOW ACTORS CAN BE GOOD AND BAD.
Because while they are willing to take shifts for people who are auditioning/have callbacks, it also means that I get insanely jealous when one of them comes back with news of being cast. I’m almost 30 auditions out with nothing, and it sucks.

That’s all for today!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 21:26:17

    “People are crazy” sounds like something I would have said working at hershey :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

